Careful What You Wish For

At the beginning of the week, I posted a post on my Facebook page, stating how much I was looking forward to all of the changes and celebrations this week was going to hold. By Monday morning, I planned to sell my truck, buy a Toyota 4Runner, get a better job and celebrate my birthday.

By Monday night I was told the company I was currently working for was shutting down,  we were all let go and my truck was appraised for $4,000 less than expected. To top it off, shortly after receiving the news from my company I received even worse news: my puppy had gotten out of our backyard. The little booger was found, luckily.

After Monday’s shit-show of a day, I decided the rest of the week must get better.. and now! I spent all Tuesday applying for jobs, better jobs, putting my truck for sale everywhere I could and holding onto my puppy so tight her eyes bulged out.

By Friday morning [[my birthday]] I wake up to my boyfriend holding a bouquet of flowers and a loud buzz from my cell phone. I had received an email not only stating that I was  hired, but that I start the following Wednesday. The rest of my special day was spent drinking pina coladas and eating tacos in Mexico.

Sometimes you get exactly what you wish for. Other times, life throws you upside down, dangling you by your heels and says, “How’s this look?”

Leave a Reply

